Review for What Are You by Poca

Ok, if you haven’t noticed, I try to showcase authors and stories that are already on WordPress.

Why?

Because quite simply, these people took the extra initiative to go make a website and showcase their work on it.  It isn’t easy to make a website.  As one of the people who made the move, and still play with my own site (though it is self hosted and I have a web admin for it) I truly understand what all goes into making a site. In fact, to help others, I have made a page on WordPress to help as well offer my help to new people wanting to move to WordPress.

So I rather direct traffic to those sites than to sites that already get a lot of traffic.  In fact, a dear friend of mine is putting together a site and I am patiently waiting for the time she is ready to go live to do a review on her fabulous story!!!

However, once in awhile, there comes a story that grabs your attention and deserves to be acknowledged!!!  This is one of them!

What Are You 2

 Name of Story: What Are You?

Fandom: TB

Author: Poca

Site: https://www.fanfiction.net/s/6227345/1/What-Are-You

Rating (If Applicable): M

Pairing: Eric/OC

Description (Authors): 

Charlotte is a confused but stubborn Irish girl that just moved to Bon Temps, looking for answers and for some peace, but it seems like a certain someone has taken quite a liking to her. She needs to find out who and what she really is, before he tries to win her over and tries to figure out why she glows. Why does the humming intensify when she is near him? What is she?(Eric x OC)


Review: 

So I was bored, and for those that know me, I was having my usual affliction.  When this happens, I can’t write or really do anything but read.

I went on to Fanfiction.net to see if there was any new stories in any of my favorite fandoms.  I had refiltered True Blood for any pairings, desperate to find something that I can read.  I also had done this since Royal Ember shows up under OC and I always look out for her stuff.

I jumped into this one, seeing there were loads of chapters, and the summary was interesting.

I was blown away with the way she merged the show with the new OC.

You find out Charlotte was sent to Bon Temps, and that something had happened to her.  A huge tragedy that you spend the beginning of the story putting together the clues.

Along with that, you watch her integrate herself into the story, becoming best friends with Sookie, who cannot hear her, adding to the mystery of what is she.

Bill is in here, as well as the rest of the gang.  There are no surprises in how that all goes, the real reason you read this is to see Charlotte and Eric interact.

Except from Chapter 1:

“Where should I go?” a woman with a soft Irish accent whispered, hurt, not looking at the woman behind her.

“There is a small town, in America, called Bon Temps. It sounds nice, you should go there.”

“Whatever, just leave me alone.” the Irish woman’s shoulder’s sagged even more.

The other woman went to reach for her, to comfort her, but Irish woman was packing her things.

She was too hurt… Maybe this small town could help her, she hoped.

Next comes from her move to Bon Temps.

There are a lot of original ideas, in this, and I enjoyed reading them. However, I will admit I skimmed the show parts without Eric once the mystery parts were solved. This is due to me wanting to know more!  It has nothing to do with the author and everything to do with me reading and being impatient with reading about this fantastic new character! Thankfully, she doesn’t follow Sookie very much in this story, only showcasing her when it involves Charlotte. Moving Charlotte into the places Sookie normally had for involvement with Eric is interesting.  She is NOT Sookie at all, and her relationship with Eric is not the same.  It makes it much more exciting to read their interactions because of this!

There is still a mystery involving Charlotte all the way until Season 4 starts.  There is a side part while Sookie is in Fairy that is all Charlotte and Eric.  It will rock your socks off!!!

I truly enjoyed this, and like I mentioned, the parts that are all Charlotte and Eric are more than worth reading. I loved the other stuff, since it reminded me what was happening and let you anchor what is going on better with the series.  I loved to see how she portrayed the other characters, and she didn’t pull any punches with Bill and Sam.

I recommend you to read this, and give it a try.  I wish I could tell you the plot twist in here, but then there wouldn’t be any fun for you to read!

As always, the pictures are links also!

Enjoy!

Kittyinaz Signature

3 thoughts on “Review for What Are You by Poca”

Leave a comment