Review for Dark Past, Bright Future by Ashley Sue

 

Yeah so I am going to try to update as I read.  Right now I went back to the beginning.  I’m talking about how I first started to read True Blood.

Yep, Fanfiction.

I filter for completed M stories with over 10k.  Sometimes I remember to add Sookie sometimes not.  So off we go with the blast to the past!

Bright Future 1

 Name of Story: Dark Past, Bright Future

Fandom: TB

Author:Ashley Sue

Site: https://www.fanfiction.net/s/5450313/1/Dark-Past-Bright-Future

Rating (If Applicable): M

Pairing: Eric/Sookie/Godric

Status: Complete

Description (Authors): 

After recognizing Godric during the events in Dallas, Sookie returns to Louisiana and must choose between Bill, Godric, and Eric. Full summary inside.


Review: 

Since I started my journey into True Blood from a Bella/Godric fic, the fact that Godric was in this one made it a must read.  And I liked the premise of the story.

To me it explained some things that had me wondering while watching the episode.

It explained in a way the familiarity of Sookie with Godric and why he would protect her.  But from there it goes AU.

There is no Manead plotline in this one.  But there is plenty going on to get Sookie where she accepts the men who wish to woo her.

Except from Chapter 1:

Godric took my hand and led me out of the sanctuary and toward the exit. Once he knew we were out of Reverend Newlin’s hearing range, he looked at me, and said, “Sookie,know you’re probably upset with me.”

“Upset doesn’t even begin to describe how I feel right now, Godric. I thought you were dead. Do you know what that did to me? And now, to find out what and who you truly are? Was everything you ever told me a lie?”

He stopped walking, and put his hands on my shoulders. “I was told to keep my identity from you. You were so young, so innocent, so naive. You wouldn’t have understood if I’d try to tell you the truth.”

“Hang on, back up a minute; did you say you were told to keep your identity from me? Does that mean that you were only with me because you were under orders to be?”

“I was told to watch over you and protect you for a short time. I could have done that from the shadows and never revealed myself to you. aut the more I watched you, the more I wanted to know you. To speak with you. To be a part of your world.”

By this time, we had reached the home that the Dallas vampires used as their nest. I could tell that Godric wanted to continue our conversation, but I was still very angry with him. “Godric, I’m going to go find Jason, get some clean clothes, and try to calm myself down. Maybe once I’ve had a chance to process everything that’s happened in the past 24 hours, we can talk about this some more. But, to be honest, I don’t even know if it’s worth it.”

I turned and walked away from him, and I could tell by the look on his face that he was very disappointed. Well, he wasn’t the only one. But, I wasn’t just disappointed; I was very angry, and very hurt. The brief time I’d spent with him years ago had been the best of my life, up until the time I’d met Bill.

I seriously enjoyed the premise of the story.  You can tell it was before alot of the plot lines in True Blood started.  And it in a way it makes it more enjoyable to read.  You don’t have to worry about all the things that we are all now aware of that happened.

In fact, the only fault with the sotry was not something that the writer did, but was because of the impression we had of Eric at the time.  Even then, it was so minute that it made no difference.

So go enjoy this blast from the past.  I did!! Don’t forget to leave a review for the author.

I am reading another one.  And if I don’t read your favorite blast from the past, alot of them had sequels that never were finsihed and I am looking for completed.

Unless it is EricizMine.  Then I have to read hers…

Enjoy!

Kittyinaz Signature

4 thoughts on “Review for Dark Past, Bright Future by Ashley Sue”

Leave a comment