Author Interview: Meeko!

Meeko

Meeko! Welcome Meeko and thanks for doing the interview! Though I sent this before you agreed I do believe, but either way!!!!

We are going to start out with some basic information for all of you.

Can you please tell the people reading this your name?

Uhm… Meeko?

Where do you like to post, and can you give us the site of your preferred medium?

I post on fanfiction.net, my website and BetterInTexas.

What do you like to snack on when writing?

Some kind of crackers. Townhouse Flatbreads, Italian Herbs.

Like the question above, but what do you listen to when you write, do you have a playlist for certain stories?

I listen to Buggy yap away on Skype, and then I might listen to some country music or pop, but generally music gives me a headache.

Tell us something about yourself that you think your fans would love to know about:  

I’m working on a collaboration with Buggy. The story we’ve just started to post is complete and we’ve begun on the sequel. It’s a Twilight/Covert Affairs story called Back At Your Door. And we definitely need to stop titling stories with a B. We have too much of those.

Thanks.  That gives us some basic information.  Now, about the writing –   I know you’re excited…

Why did you start writing?

Because I was sick and tired of the stories that were out and I had too many bunnies, too many words, in my head that needed to get out.

What do you enjoy the most about it?

That people enjoy what my demented brain comes up with. Wait til they see what else I have planned. I don’t know when it’ll come out, but I have a lot of ideas! Such as one that screws up the vampire bloodlines!

What do you like least about it?

Pushy readers who think they’re entitled to updates, especially after you’ve made an announcement that you won’t be updating certain stories due to specific reasons.

That first time hitting publish, how did you feel?

Oh god, this is shit. This is crap.

Where do you get your inspiration?

Music, episodes of the fandoms, whatever my demented brain comes up with… scenarios that I come across at work… it varies, really.

What is your writing area like? Do you use computer or paper, or both?  Or another medium?

Computer and paper if I’m work and I get a bunny that won’t leave me alone and I have to scribble the words down. My writing area is on my bed with the laptop in my lap.

Do you use an outline, rough draft or just write?

Either an outline or free write. Depends on the story. It really depends on the story; if it’s an intricately detailed story it’s outlined. If not, it’s free write or notes.

What do you do while you’re writing (listen to music, TV in the background, etc.)?

(sidenote from Meeko’s typist Buggy: Currently we’re on skype, so that I can ask the questions while Meeko’s running a fever and oh my god, she just put a heating pad on her head!)

I’m constantly being called away by family and other than that, it’s hanging out with Buggy on skype when she’s awake. Time difference and shit.

What annoys you the most when you are trying to write?

Family. Those idiots need to leave me alone. No, I said fuckers, don’t smoothe things over! Fucking FUCK.

If you have finished a fic, what was your feeling on it?

Finafuckally! My complete count is one. Incomplete? About 20.

What are your favorite fandoms to write?

Twilight, which is the bicycle.

The Originals and The Vampire Diaries for the vampires.

Teen Wolf because Derek is hot.

Covert Affairs because I just want to chain Auggie Anderson up in my bed.

Who are your favorite characters to write

When we’re collaborating, Buggy takes the men, I’m usually writing the woman part. The damsel in distress or the damsel who’s saving the gentleman in distress. So that’s Bella. Mostly, because I can put my own spin to her because otherwise she’s a boring ass bitch.

I like writing Ziva David from NCIS. Oh, I miss Ziva. (Buggy: No. Meeko: What? We still have that WIP! Buggy: Oh god.)

Klaus and Damon are fun to write. Especially when they’re all ready to go on a bloody massacre. That’s the best.

I’m still exploring the Covert Affairs and Teen Wolf fandom so there might be more.

Who are your least favorite characters to write?

Elijah Mikaelson. Fucker. Boring ass prissy bitch. He looks good, but that’s just it.

Elena Gilbert.

What is your favourite scene or story you have written and why?

Ugh. You’re not supposed to have favourite children.

What is the most difficult story or scene you have written, and why?

Most difficult story would be Taigai Ridatsu. It’s the darkest, most convoluted shit ever. Bella’s in prison and tortured, she keeps getting ripped from her body. It’s like this teasing action between her and Derek but in comparison to other fanfictions this is one where their relationship actually progresses on a normal pace and doesn’t happen overnight and fall into bed together.

Do you see any characteristics in the characters you write?

So Buggy says that the question should be if I recognize myself in the characters that I write after she asked you for clarification of this question. And the answer is…

Do I see myself as an ass kicking hot chick? No! I do not see myself as my version of Bella. And do I see myself as a whippy girl who lets herself get walked over like canon Bella? No! So… No, no no!

What do you like most about your preferred fandom?

Twilight is a blank slate that you can push into almost any other fandom to make a story with. Buggy and I have written the first Twilight/Arrow crossover on fanfiction.net and the first Twilight/Covert Affairs on there as well. It’s the easiest fandom to crossover because you can do so much with it.

Between me and Buggy and our collabs, we’ve crossed Twilight with 5 other fandoms in the last year.

How would you describe your fics?

They range from corny, silly and adventurous to serious and what the fuck? What the fuck just happened?

What story would you recommend of your own for a new fan to start first?

Something To Hope For. Because it’s the only one that’s complete and shows that I actually can finish something. (Thanks, Buggy!)

Now the HARD questions:

If you could offer a suggestion to someone who is thinking of publishing their first story, what would it be?

  1. Don’t let Buggy beta for you because she’s mine.
  2. Don’t go looking at Jessica because Jessica is my bitch.
  3. Write for yourself, because at the end of the day, those words are yours and yours alone. Your emotions, your thoughts, your therapy. They’re only there to entertain and help you, no one else. Don’t listen to anyone who talks shit about your writing (unless it’s your beta).

If you could go back in time, and give yourself one word of advice, what would you say?  (No Lottery numbers or anything like that!!!)

I’ll pop up behind myself in school and poke myself hard. “Don’t fuck up in school. Pay attention or you’ll flunk and you’ll have to pay for shit aka your degree later.”

What 5 stories would you recommend someone read?  Please list fandom, sites and name with pairing.

Buggy’s Fractured Marionette, Twilight/The Originals, Bella/Klaus. Because it’s fucking convoluted awesomeness.

Better in Texas’ Whirlwind, Twilight, Bella/Jasper. Because it’s fucking nuts.

Speklez’ Never Saw That Coming, Twilight, Peter/Bella. Because Peter does not get along with Jasper and it’s hilarious. On top of that, Bella doesn’t like ANYBODY.

Albert12’s Things Not To Do on Atlantis. Stargate Atlantis. It’s just hilarious. It’s so them, but it’s hilarious.

And… *sighs* Buggy’s Leave No Man or Woman Behind. Stargate Atlantis. Because… this was my review: I cannot read it again without a box of kleenex nearby. I stand firm on what I said after I read it the first time as it was too traumatic for me, no matter how wonderfully written this piece is. It always pulls at my heart when I think about it, even when we joke about my inability to even spare a glance at the words. You took a request for a sad story and really turned it into something no other and you are the best at making readers, and myself, cry with mere words.

Is there something you wished I asked, and if so, what as well as the answer.  

Did you know that Buggy and I collaborate on stories? Yes, we do! Our penname is meekobuggy (so original!) and if we’re not writing something solo, you can bet your ass that we’re working on something together.

Thanks!!

You’re welcome, thanks for asking me all these questions, it was fun.

3 thoughts on “Author Interview: Meeko!”

Leave a comment