Review for Much Ado About Vampires by Secret Nerd Princess

I have some requests out to see if anyone wants to be interviewed.  Those stories are to be the first to be reviewed.  If you wish to be featured here, please contact me by leaving a message on this post!

Now, this lady I am going to review does crossovers often in the True Blood world, but this time she is doing a True Blood story based upon my favorite Shakespeare Play, Much Ado About Nothing.

Much Ado About Vampires 2

 Name of Story: Much Ado About Vampires

Fandom: TB

Author: Secret Nerd Princess

Site: https://secretnerdprincess.wordpress.com/fanfiction-stories/much-ado-about-vampires/

Rating (If Applicable): M

Pairing: Eric/Sookie

Description (Authors): 

Set in an alternate version of America where the vampires and the fae have joined together to run the country, Sookie Stackhouse is sent by her great-grandfather Niall to infiltrate the Fae Court. Along the way she meets Eric Northman, Sheriff of Area Five, who is frustrating, high-handed, and gorgeous. Can two societies be changed by an ex-waitress turned fairy princess?


Review: 

I am a personal friend of the writer, in fact, she betas for my mom! And I will admit I am begging for her to join my team.

She contacted me one day and we were talking. She asked if she can bounce a story idea off of me and Meridian.  We agreed, and low and behold Much Ado About Vampires was born.

If you ever had to study this story, there are schools of thought on the action before the play starts.  This is where Secret Nerd Princess starts her fic.

If you never read this play, or seen it, (My personal favorite is the one by Kenneth Branagh and the authors favorite is the one by Joss Whedon) you don’t need to know it.  She introduces you to the world she has built.

You start out with a prologue telling the back story.  This prologue will be a couple of chapters, and I will say it is very detailed.   You find out why Sookie is there and the details of how the females of the courts are treated and what she is to do.

The sheer detail she puts into the story is amazing, and the beginning captures your imagination:

Except from Prologue Chapter 1:

She felt him approach without needing to look. When he passed her, she inhaled heavily, drawing his glacier blue eyes to hers. The world stopped, which is such a ridiculous thing to say, the world didn’t actually stop, but it felt like it narrowed to a simple circle that included only Sookie and the blond-haired man standing over six feet tall walking as if the universe bowed down before him—it probably did.

Her brother brought her back to reality, snapping his fingers in front of her face and calling her name.

“Sookie,” his voice had taken on a frantic tone as she brought her focus back to the people in the booth. When he finally got her attention again, he asked, “What’s up with the zone out, Sis? I know he’s hot, but damn, it’s like you took a trip to Jupiter there for a few minutes.

This story is one I look forward to receiving the chapters to read over them, then once they are published, I go back over to see how she changed it with the suggestions of her prereaders .  Because I gotta admit, the changes we talk about and how she implements them blow my mind each and every time.

I am so looking forward to the next chapter where she begins to move forward with the play.  And what we have discussed is making me actually very anxious to read more.

Think about it.  Sookie taking on the Supernaturals ideas of how woman should be treated.  And Eric and her exchanging barbs, but completely in love with each other.  For those that have read the play (and for those that don’t this is a comedy per the definition of the time), she will be sticking close to the play.

I for one can’t wait to see her casting choices.  I only know the ones she gave me for making the banner, but I will love to see who plays Dogberry.  In my favorite version, Michael Keaton played him.  In Secret Nerd Princess’s version, Nathan Fillion plays him.

I hope you take a chance on this since this looks to be an exciting story to be reading!!!  Let her know Kittyinaz sent you! Enjoy!

Kittyinaz Signature

4 thoughts on “Review for Much Ado About Vampires by Secret Nerd Princess”

  1. I love that while this story is very cleverly based on the play, you don’t have to be familiar with it to ‘get’ the points in the fic. It’s not going to be a fluffy little read – the subject material is strong, complicated, and worthy – but SNP has a great way with words so you’re not going to be bored and you’re not going to be inundated with social-cause-angst at every turn, either. It’s definitely worth a read!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment